Invitational Pairs News!

Chicago's Premier Event - CCBA Invitational Pairs will be begin on Jan 26 at Winterfest (Friday Evening) and conclude on Saturday Afternoon.  Immediately following the event, the CCBA will be sponsoring an all-you-can-eat buffet for $15 -- Tickets for dinner are required, and reservations are strongly suggested!

For 2018 the Invitational Pairs will be rated as a Charity Pair event and will award a greater number of masterpoints than in the past.

If you have 1300 or more masterpoints, you have pre-qualified. 

You may also qualify by scoring highly in a CCBA event the previous calendar year:

  • 1st in an unlimited, one-session event at a CCBA sectional
  • 1st-2nd in a two-session, unlimited event at a CCBA sectional
  • 1st in Flight B or Strata B of a CCBA Sectional event if the top Masterpoint restriction is 1000 or higher
  • 1st-2nd in the top bracket of a CCBA sectional knockout
  • 1st in the second KO bracket at a CCBA sectional
  • 1st-3rd of the District Grand National Teams, Flight A
  • 1st-2nd of the District Grand National Teams, Flight B
  • 1st-3rd of the NAOP, Flight A
  • 1st-2nd of the District NAP, Flight B
  • 1st in the Unit NAP, Flight B
  • 1st-3rd in unlimited events at CCBA Regionals
  • 1st-2nd in Flight B or Strata B of a CCBA regional event (with top Masterpoint restriction at 1000 or higher)
  • 1st-2nd in a Regionally rated Gold Rush Pairs 
  • 1st-2nd in the top bracket of a CCBA regional knockout
  • 1st-2nd in the second KO bracket at a CCBA regional (1st only if it is the bottom bracket)
  • 1st in the third KO bracket at a CCBA regional if it is not the bottom bracket

Please enjoy playing in the Crystal Lake Regionals and Sectionals, but remember that they are not CCBA sponsored tournaments, and placing in these events do not provide a means of qualifying for the CCBA Invitational Pairs.

You may search for names in the current qualification list.

Registration is now available and will remain open until Jan 22, 2018

Grand National Teams News!

This year's Grand National Team competition will take place on the weekend of February 24 at the Northbrook Hilton, 2855 North Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL.  Game time for the Saturday start is 11:00 am.

Flights for this years events are:

  • Championship (Unlimited)
  • Flight A (0-6000)
  • Flight B (0-2500)
  • Flight C (0-500 and Non Life-Master)

Masterpoints holding recorded as of September 2017 masterpoint cycle (report produced Sept 6, 2017).

Championship and Flight A will take place over 4 sessions and will be concluded in a single weekend. Flight B will take place over 4 sessions on February 24-25, but will conclude in a final match between the last two qualifiers at a time and place to be determined by the players with approval of the District Coordinators.

The conditions of contest for this years event is available here on District 13's website.  The District has a flyer on this event as well.

Registration is now available and will remain open until Feb 18, 2018

Harmon Wilkes Award

The most prestigeous honor that the CCBA Board of Directors awards, is the Harmon Wilkes Award.

This award is not automatically presented each year, but only when the CCBA Board of Directors deems that there is a member that has met the following conditions:

  1. Observes both the laws and ethics of the game.
  2. Plays competitively and is always fair.
  3. Is gracious in victory as well as in defeat.
  4. Is pleasant as a partner or an opponent.
  5. Exhibits good manners at the bridge table and awareness that pleasure is also a purpose for playing bridge.
  6. Graciously abides by the ruling of the directors and does not give unsolicited lessons during the game.
  7. Avoids discussion of boards in the presence of new opponents.
  8. Refrains from intemperate drinking and has regard about personal appearance.
  9. Does not become angered or quarrelsome.
  10. Has a genuine interest in the preservation and development of duplicate bridge and the maintenance of its good reputation.

Year    Recipient

2014     Howard Engle
    Allan Jonas
2012    Cheri Bjerkan
2011    Ralph Katz
2010    George Jacobs
2009    Jeff Miller
2008    Tillie Ott
2007    Eleanor Shadur
2006    Anne Hayes
2005    Harriette Buckman
2004    Carol Labarge
2003    (not awarded)
2002    Mary Gardner
2001    Jim Humphrey
2000    Greg Gran
1999    (not awarded)
1998    Jerry Goldfien
1997    Jim Stevens
1996    (not awarded)
1995    Tom Obermeier
1994    Fred Buckman
1993    Adrienne Cohen
1992    Jim Burt
1991    Helen S. Brown and Gloria Harris
1990    Art Gran
1989    Barbara Saben
1988    Bob Price



2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020